Skip to main content

News Detail

Ingersoll and SWOX Boundary Adjustment

12/21/2020 3:37:50 PM

Ingersoll Mayor Ted Comiskey and South-West Oxford Mayor David Mayberry Deliver Joint Announcement Regarding Boundary Adjustment

On Tuesday, December 15, 2020, Town of Ingersoll Mayor Ted Comiskey and South-West Oxford Mayor David Mayberry announced that the “Boundary Restructuring Order” has been officially signed by The Honourable Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing. The approved Restructuring Order formalized the Boundary Agreement between both municipalities.

The agreement is in keeping with the policies of the Provincial Policy Statement and County of Oxford Official Plan which require growth and development be directed to designated settlement areas with an appropriate level of services. The subject lands moving into the designated settlement boundary for the Town of Ingersoll are now eligible for re-development for residential, industrial or other urban-type uses permitted.

The finalized agreement will allow for the implementation of strategies to achieve the following mutual objectives:

  • To assure shared prosperity by growing together as sustainable and independent municipalities;
  • To strategically plan to accommodate the future growth within the boundaries of the Town of Ingersoll with the taxation to be shared with the Township of South-West Oxford;
  • To achieve orderly and environmentally sustainable development, consistent with Provincial legislation as defined by the Planning Act and the County of Oxford Official Plan.

Quick Facts

  • The Boundary Adjustment represents an annexation of approximately 1,550 acres (627 hectares) involving 61 properties to be transferred to the Town of Ingersoll jurisdiction on January 1, 2021
  • Residential and farm properties will have their taxes phased in over 10 years, while industrial landowners will have their taxes phased in over 5 years.
  • Boundary adjustment takes effect on January 1, 2021

For additional information, please contact:

Mayor David Mayberry
Township of South-West Oxford

Mary Ellen Greb, CAO
Township of South-West Oxford
519-485-0477 ext. 7025

Mayor Ted Comiskey
Town of Ingersoll

Bill Tigert, CAO
Town of Ingersoll
519-485-0120 ext. 6229

Municipal Contacts

Township of South-West Oxford

Located in South Western Ontario, in the South West section of Oxford County and serves as a regional centre for industry, commerce and recreation.

The Township oversees 87,588 acres with a population of 7,544 and we have Canada’s busiest highway in our front yard! With a rich agricultural heritage, please stop by and enjoy our diverse Township. 

The Township’s mission is be "a leader in the development and delivery of municipal services for the growth and well being of our community"

Contact Us

312915 Dereham Line
Mt. Elgin, On N0J 1N0
Hours: Monday – Friday 
8:30 am to 4:30 pm
Phone: 519-877-2702 / 519-485-0477
Fax: 519-485-2932

Copyright © 2019 SWOX, All rights reserved